Membership and Members


Membership Information and Member Institutions


Regionally accredited colleges and universities — offering programs in nursing in any of the 16 SREB states that comprise the Southern Regional Education Board compact and the District of Columbia — are eligible for membership. The chief administrative officer for the nursing program is the institutional representative. Council membership is nontransferable. 


Representatives elect a president, vice president, five directors — who have general supervision of the affairs of the council — and a five-member nominating committee. 


The Council’s Finance Committee recommends membership fees to the Board of Directors for member institutions. The fee for the fiscal year July 1, 2015 through June 30, 2016 is $919. 



The council meets annually in Atlanta. Representatives of the participating institutions approve council policies and plans for regional activities. In addition, the council may sponsor selected conferences and workshops that address relevant issues and concerns of nurse educators. 


Standing committees — appointed by the officers and directors — include Bylaws, Finance, Government Relations, Membership, Program, Research and Workforce Diversity. Current ad hoc committees include Education Technology, Leadership Development, M. Elizabeth Cargenie Award and the Nurse Educator Consortium. 

General information

Member Institutions

Albany State University
Alcorn State University
Arkansas State University
Arkansas Tech University
Armstrong Atlantic State University
Auburn University
Barry University
Baylor University
Charleston Southern University
Clayton State University
Clemson University
Cleveland State Community College
Coahoma Community College
College of Coastal Georgia
Cumberland University
Delta State University
East Carolina University
East Tennessee State University