Carnegie Award for Nursing


In Recognition of Quality

The Mary Elizabeth Carnegie Award is given by the Council to a nurse educator who best exemplifies Carnegie’s quest for excellence in nursing education. The honor is a regional award in recognition of Dr. M. Elizabeth Carnegie, who was a trailblazer, a pathfinder, a scholar and an advocate for workforce diversity in nursing education and practice. 


  • 2010: Ora L. Strickland, Ph.D., RN, FAAN, Dean and Professor (Florida International University)
  • 2011: Dee Baldwin, Ph.D., RN, FAAN, Associate Dean and Professor (University of North Carolina at Charlotte)
  • 2013: G. Rumay Alexander, Ed.D., RN, FAAN, Director of Multicultural Affairs and Clinical Professor (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)