Search: 2015

Results 11 - 20 of 752


General information

Advisory Council Members

The Making Schools Work Advisory Council is composed of state directors of CTE and school improvement from states belonging to SREB’s school improvement networks.

2019-2020 Council Members

Karen Anderson, School Improvement Director, Alabama State Department of Education

Deborah Coffman, Assistant Commissioner of Public School Accountability, Division of Elementary and Secondary Education, Arkansas Department of Education

Tiara Booker-Dwyer, Assistant State Superintendent of College and Career Readiness, Maryland State Department of Education

Wendy Clemons, Executive Director, Secondary Education and Professional Development, Mississippi Department of Education

Latoya Dixon, Director, Office of School Transformation, South Carolina Department of Education

Kelly Foster, Associate Commissioner, Office of Next Generation Schools and Districts, Kentucky Department of Education

Twila Green, High Schools That Work / Technology Centers That Work State Coordinator, Oklahoma Department of Career and Technology Education

Yvonne Holloman, Associate Director, Office of School Quality, Virginia Department of Education

Stan Hopkins, High Schools That Work Coordinator, West Virginia

David Horseman, Associate Commissioner, Office of Career and Technical Education, Kentucky Department of Education

Stephanie Johnson, Deputy Superintendent, School Improvement, Georgia Department of Education

Dave Leavitt, SREB School Improvement Consultant, New York

Betheny Lyke, Principal Consultant, District and School Improvement Center, American Institutes for Research

Angel Malone, CATE Director, Office of Career & Technical Education, South Carolina Department of Education

Brook Meiller, Executive Director, School Support & Improvement, Oklahoma State Department of Education

Edmund Mitzel, Executive Director, Maryland State Department of Education

Shell Nichols, Assistant Director, Office of Career Technical Education, Ohio Department of Education

Molly Ream, Program Specialist, Georgia Department of Education

Sonja Robertson, Executive Director, School Improvement, Mississippi Department of Education

Judith Sams, Specialist, Business and Information Technology & Related Clusters, Office of Career, Technical, and Adult Education, Virginia Department of Education

Hether Little-Shirey, Principal, Moore High School, Oklahoma

Felicia Everson-Tuggle, Assistant Commissioner of School Improvement, Tennessee Department of Education

Kristy Unger, Assistant Director, Cape Girardeau Career and Technology Center, Missouri

Margaret Williamson, Assistant Director, West Virginia Department of Education


In Recognition of Quality

The Mary Elizabeth Carnegie Award is given by the Council to a nurse educator who best exemplifies Carnegie’s quest for excellence in nursing education. The honor is a regional award in recognition of Dr. M. Elizabeth Carnegie, who was a trailblazer, a pathfinder, a scholar and an advocate for workforce diversity in nursing education and practice. 


General information


Please mark your calendars for the upcoming Institute on Teaching and Mentoring. The 2020 Institute will be held in Tampa, Florida October 29-November 1 at the Marriott Water Street. For more information visit the Institute website

As a reminder, please do not forget that on our Program Web site we offer a job posting service. This is a free service that we encourage universities from the entire nation to use. For students, this service helps you to look for jobs.


Veronica Johnson
Communications Specialist, Postsecondary

Veronica Johnson manages communication for the Doctoral Scholars Program, the Institute on Teaching and Mentoring and a portfolio of other postsecondary programs and services. Veronica joined the Southern Regional Education Board’s communications team in 2017 as the digital communications specialist, where she managed content, social media and analytics. Veronica joined SREB in 2014 as the administrative assistant/research associate for the Learning-Centered Leadership Program.


2020 Institute for Teaching and Mentoring

October 29-November 1, 2020
Marriott Water Street
Tampa, Florida

The Institute on Teaching and Mentoring, a four-day conference, has become the largest gathering of minority doctoral scholars in the country. Now in its 27th year, the Institute gives the issue of faculty diversity a national focus and provides minority scholars with the strategies necessary to survive the rigors of graduate school, earn the doctoral degree and succeed as members of the professoriate.

2020 Institute for Teaching and Mentoring
Video highlights from the 2018 Institute

Visit the Institute on Teaching and Mentoring website for more information.

View the full 2019 Institute Program Agenda


College and Career Readiness

By 2025, two out of every three jobs will require some education beyond high school. Yet far too many students are graduating from high school without the knowledge and skills they need to earn a credential or degree.

Readiness is central to SREB’s core mission of helping states increase educational attainment and grow their economies.

SREB offers policymakers detailed data on policies and how states are using them to improve achievement. And we serve districts and schools with career pathways, curricula and professional learning to help educators prepare students for what comes next in their lives.


Frequently Asked Questions

What is the Academic Common Market?

  • The Academic Common Market is a tuition-savings program for college students in 15 SREB states, who want to pursue degrees that are not offered by their in-state institutions. Students can enroll in out-of-state institutions that offer their degree program and pay the institution’s in-state tuition rates. More than 1,900 undergraduate and graduate programs are available.