Search: 04/2016

Results 1 - 10 of 159




Brian Kemp, Governor of Georgia, Atlanta, ex officio (2023)

Matt Arthur, Executive Secretary, Georgia Professional Standards Commission, Atlanta (2021)

Terry England, State Representative, Auburn (2020)

Jack Hill, State Senator, Reidsville (2018)

Fran Millar, former State Senator, Dunwoody (2019)



Greg Abbott, Governor of Texas, Austin, ex officio (2023)

Harrison Keller, Commissioner of Higher Education, Austin (2021)

Pedro Martinez, Superintendent, San Antonio Independent School District (2023)

Mike Morath, Commissioner of Education, Austin (2022)

Larry Taylor, State Senator, Friendswood (2020)



John Bel Edwards, Governor of Louisiana, Baton Rouge, ex officio (2024) 

Cynthia Hedge-Morrell, New Orleans (2018)

Monty Sullivan, President, Louisiana Community and Technical College System, Baton Rouge (2020)

Francis C. Thompson, State Representative, Delhi (2021)

John C. White, State Superintendent of Education, Baton Rouge (2019)



Representative Francis C. Thompson of Delhi serves on the Council by virtue of being a legislative member of the Board.



All Mississippi members of the Council recently left office; we will update this listing when the governor makes new appointments to the Council.



Phil Bryant, Governor of Mississippi, Jackson, ex officio (2020)

Terry Burton, former State Senator, Newton (2020)

Videt Carmichael, former State Senator, Meridian (2022)

Mimmo Parisi, Professor and Director, National Strategic Planning and Analysis Research Center, Mississippi State University, Starkville (2021)

Pat Ross, Education and Workforce Development Policy Advisor, Office of the Governor, Jackson (2019)



Andy Beshear, Governor of Kentucky, Frankfort, ex officio (2023)

Laura Arnold, Director of Workforce Development, Nelson County Public Schools, Bardstown (2022)

John “Bam” Carney, State Representative, Campbellsville (2021)

David McFadden, Senior Vice President for Operations and Strategic Initiatives, Eastern Kentucky University, Richmond (2020)

Nancy Tate, State Representative, Brandenburg (2023)


Promising Practices Newsletters

SREB’s Promising Practices Newsletter contains real school and classroom practices from school leaders, teachers and other featured speakers who presented at our annual Making Schools Work Conference and the College- and Career-Readiness Standards Networking Conference.

Each newsletter contains helpful information from schools that are successfully implementing SREB’s Key Practices for the middle grades, high schools and technology centers as well as the names and email addresses of practitioners you can contact to learn more.

To receive email notifications when new newsletters are published, please subscribe here:



Senator Janet D. Howell of Reston serves on the Council by virtue of being a legislative member of the Board. Senator Jennifer L. McClellan of Richmond is a gubernatorial appointee and the Council’s current vice chair.
Senator Mamie E. Locke of Hampton and Delegate David L. Bulova of Fairfax are gubernatorial appointees to the Council.



Nancy Tate of Brandenburg serves on the Council by virtue of being a legislative member of the Board. Representative John “Bam” Carney of Campbellsville serves on the Council by virtue of being a legislative member of the Board and is the Council’s current chair.