How does a state become a member of Technology Centers That Work?

States that participate in the TCTW network gain a cost-effective way to offer shared-time centers a proven framework of Goals and Key Practices for raising student achievement. 

Representatives of participating TCTW states meet in conjunction with High Schools That Work (HSTW) representatives to discuss progress in improving student achievement and to address issues of leadership, staff development, technical assistance and accountability. In addition, a National TCTW Leaders Forum is held annually to provide opportunities for state and site representatives to focus conversations on issues exclusive to these centers. 

SREB and the states are partners in delivering services to member schools and in encouraging policy-makers to enact needed legislation and policies to improve opportunities for students who attend these centers. States sign a memorandum of understanding with SREB and agree to assume certain responsibilities associated with maintaining and developing a state network of school improvement sites. 

State leaders who want to discuss or pursue state membership in TCTW should contact Gene Bottoms for more information. 

How does a school in a TCTW state become a TCTW site?

The TCTW network currently includes 12 member states: Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Missouri, New Jersey, New York, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania and South Carolina.

All TCTW sites commit to raise student achievement and agree to participate in the HSTW Assessment, the HSTW Student Survey, the TCTW Teacher Survey, staff development, technical assistance and networking activities designed to advance whole-school improvement. 

In the 12 member states, technology centers that want to join TCTW have two options: 

1. Join the state network. 

SREB and the states work together to provide services to member sites. Each state uses its own process for selecting sites. Most states require prospective sites to submit applications; a few states ask for annual proposals; and some states require majority approval by the school’s staff to adopt the TCTW school improvement model. For more information contact your state’s HSTW/TCTW state coordinator.

2. Contract with SREB for direct support. 

Centers that use this approach typically use federal, state or local funds from sources outside the state office of career and technical education. Visit the Contract Services Web page for more information about direct support available from SREB. To pursue this option, contact Tony Dobbins at SREB.