Puerto Rico Joins Distance Education Agreement


Puerto Rico was approved by the Southern Regional Education Board to join the State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement (SARA) on June 6, 2018. This approval brings nationwide SARA participation to 51 states and territories, which includes 49 states (with only California not participating), the District of Columbia, the U.S. Virgin Islands and Puerto Rico.

Puerto Rico plans to start accepting applications from institutions for SARA participation later this summer. NC-SARA Executive Director, Marshall Hill, stated, “NC-SARA is very pleased to welcome Puerto Rico’s membership to SARA. Participation in SARA will make it especially easy for Puerto Rico colleges and universities to continue to serve the many students who left the island following last year’s hurricanes, who are now spread throughout many mainland states. We’re glad that SARA can help those students continue their studies in the wake of such devastation.”

Visit http://www.agencias.pr.gov/agencias/cepr/inicio/Pages/SARA.aspx for more information on Puerto Rico’s SARA portal entity.