Interstate Cooperatives


Educational Technology Cooperative

Membership group of state K-12 and higher education coordinating and governing boards that represent more than 800 colleges and universities and 3,100 school districts in SREB states. The ETC focuses member agencies and state policymakers on using technology wisely, helps states understand technology issues, and forms an action agenda for effectively using technology in education. 

Arkansas representatives attended the spring and summer webinars. Arkansas sent one attendee to the 2017 ETC annual meeting on teaching and technology. Arkansas ETC representatives helped determine SREB’s 10 Critical Issues in Educational Technology and served on the working groups for revisions.

Arkansas participated in the ETC Intrastate Networking Visit in March 2017, hosted at the Arkansas Department of Higher Education. Participants from the Arkansas Department of Education, Arkansas Department of Higher Education, University of Central Arkansas, University of Arkansas System eVersity, Henderson State University, Southern Arkansas University System, Virtual Arkansas, University of Arkansas at Monticello, Arkansas Tech University, AREON and Team Digital discussed how to improve collaboration across education systems in Arkansas to gain efficiency and K-20 alignment.

Arkansas ETC Representatives and Member Agencies: Marla Strecker, Senior Associate Director for Research and Technology, Arkansas Department of Higher Education

Evan Patrick, Digital Learning Support Specialist, Southeast Arkansas Educational Service Cooperative >

Technology Purchasing Savings

Schools, universities and agencies in SREB states saved $3.3 million on over $33 million in technology purchases during fiscal year 2017 — double the FY2016 savings — through SREB’s participation in MHECtech discount agreements. Organizations in each of the 16 SREB states participated.

Arkansas saved $13,656 on $75,537 in technology purchases in fiscal year 2017. >