Postsecondary Education


Academic Common Market

A tuition-savings program for college students in SREB member states who want to pursue degrees not offered by in-state institutions. Students can enroll in out-of-state institutions that offer their degree program and pay the in-state tuition rates.

During calendar year 2017, 2,130 degree programs were available, 152 institutions participated and 3,355 new students were certified for study.

In 2017,121 Alabama students participated in the Academic Common Market, saving, on average, $12,763 each and a collective total of $1,582,597 in tuition. 

ACM State Representative: Paul B. Mohr, Director of Special Programs, Alabama Commission on Higher Education >

Regional Contract Program

Gives students the opportunity to earn a professional health degree from participating institutions in other states through in-state tuition rates at public institutions or reduced tuition at private institutions. More than 600 students participate each year.

Number of out-of-state students who enrolled in Alabama programs in 2017-18: 213

Residents of other states may contract for entry into Auburn University and Tuskegee University in Veterinary Medicine, and the University of Alabama at Birmingham in dentistry and optometry. For 2017-18, these Alabama institutions received approximately $6 million from other SREB states. >

State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement 

A nationwide system to open more high-quality distance education offerings for students and ease regulatory burden on institutions. SREB member states may opt in to offer distance education activities in other SARA states. 

Alabama is an approved member of SARA.

Alabama SARA representative: Tim Vick, Director of Operations and Fiscal Services, Alabama Commission on Higher Education >

Fact Book and Data Exchange

Publishes one of the nation’s most comprehensive collections of comparative data through a cooperative effort of state postsecondary education agencies. Data are updated annually on topics including population demographics, college completion, tuition and fees, cost of attendance, state appropriations and faculty salaries. 

Alabama leaders receive the SREB Fact Book on Higher Education, as well as Alabama: Featured Facts From the SREB Fact Book on Higher Education and the annual SREB-State Data Exchange tables.

Alabama’s Participating Agency and SREB-State Data Exchange Coordinator: Subrena Simpkins, Alabama Commission on Higher Education >

Council on Collegiate Education for Nursing

Helps expand and strengthen schools of nursing to reduce the critical shortage of nurse educators needed to educate the nation’s registered nurses. The Council surveys institutions for nursing education trends and shares online graduate nursing courses.

As of April 2018, 11 Alabama institutions are members (listed here with their representatives to the Council):

Auburn University: Gregg Newschwander, Dean
Auburn University at Montgomery: Jean Leuner, Dean
Coastal Alabama Community College: Jean Graham, Director
Jacksonville State University: Christie Shelton, Dean
Samford University: Nena F. Sanders, Dean
Troy University: Diane Weed, Director
Tuskegee University: Constance Smith Hendricks, Dean
University of Alabama: Suzanne C. Prevost, Dean
University of Alabama at Birmingham: Doreen C. Harper, Dean
University of Alabama at Huntsville: Marsha Adams, Dean
University of South Alabama: Debra Davis, Dean >

Doctoral Scholars Program

Supports minority students to help them earn Ph.D.s, begin careers at colleges and universities, and diversify campus faculties. The SREB-State Doctoral Scholars Program hosts the annual Institute on Teaching and Mentoring, the nation’s largest gathering of minority doctoral scholars, with more than 1,200 attendees.

Scholars funded by Alabama in 2017-18: 28
2017 Institute attendees from Alabama: 38

Scholars Alabama has supported since joining in 1993:181

Graduates since 1993: 132
Graduates currently employed: 117
Percent employed in education: 81

Alabama-supported Ph.D. students have attended these institutions since 1993:

Auburn University 
Clemson University
Howard University 
Meharry Medical College
Texas A&M University
University of Alabama
University of Alabama at Birmingham
University of Kentucky
Vanderbilt University >