Postsecondary Education


Academic Common Market

A tuition-savings program for college students in SREB member states who want to pursue degrees not offered by in-state institutions. Students can enroll in out-of-state institutions that offer their degree program and pay the in-state tuition rates.

During calendar year 2017, 2,130 degree programs were available, 152 institutions participated and 3,355 new students were certified for study.

In 2017, 198 Kentucky students participated in Academic Common Market, saving, on average, $16,367 each and a collective total of $3,224,207 in tuition.

ACM State Representative: Kathy Garrett, Senior Associate for Academic Program Management, Kentucky Council on Postsecondary Education. >

Regional Contract Program

Gives students the opportunity to earn a professional health degree from participating institutions in other states through in-state tuition rates at public institutions or reduced tuition at private institutions. More than 600 students participate each year.

Participating students from Kentucky in 2018-19: 180

RCP State Coordinator: Shaun McKiernan, Senior Associate, Budget and Finance, Kentucky Council on Postsecondary Education >

State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement 

A nationwide system to offer more high-quality distance education programs for students and ease the regulatory burden on institutions. SREB member states may opt in to offer distance education activities in other SARA states. By participating, colleges and universities in the SREB region save almost $30 million annually.

Kentucky is an approved member of SARA.

Colleges and universities in Kentucky saved $8.1 million for initial authorization and save $2.4 million annually on renewals, according to estimates in a return-on-investment study by the National Center for Higher Education Management Systems.

Kentucky SARA representative: Sara Levy, Executive Director of Postsecondary Licensing, Kentucky Council on Postsecondary Education. Member At-Large (11/2018 – 10/2020): Kristin Williams, Chancellor of the Kentucky Community and Technical College System. >

Fact Book and Data Exchange

Fact Book

The SREB Fact Book on Higher Education is a compilation of comparative data on topics including demographics; college enrollment, retention, progression and graduation; tuition and fees; student financial aid; state support for postsecondary education; and faculty salaries. The Fact Book is published bi-annually, but the data are updated annually and made available on the SREB website.​

Kentucky leaders receive the SREB Fact Book on Higher Education and Kentucky: Featured Facts From the SREB Fact Book on Higher Education.

SREB-State Data Exchange

An annual collection of postsecondary education data that are submitted by representatives (i.e., Data Exchange coordinators) of postsecondary education system offices. The data collected include degrees conferred, student retention and progression, time to degree, student credit hours taken by high school students and by college students in courses using distance education technology, state funding for postsecondary education, and tuition and fees.​

SREB-State Data Exchange tables are posted on the SREB website.

Kentucky’s participating agency and SREB-State Data Exchange Coordinator: David Mahan, Kentucky Council on Postsecondary Education >

Council on Collegiate Education for Nursing

Helps expand and strengthen schools of nursing to reduce the critical shortage of nurse educators needed to educate the nation’s registered nurses. The Council surveys institutions for nursing education trends and shares online graduate nursing courses.

As of November 2018, two Kentucky institutions are members, listed here with their representatives to the Council:

Morehead State University: Lynn Parsons, Chair
Spalding University: Patricia Spurr, Associate Dean and Chair >

Doctoral Scholars Program

Supports minority students to help them earn Ph.D.s, begin careers at colleges and universities, and diversify campus faculties. The SREB-State Doctoral Scholars Program (DSP) hosts the annual Institute on Teaching and Mentoring, the nation’s largest gathering of minority doctoral scholars, with more than 1,100 attendees. The data below reflect Ph.D. Scholars who are funded by the state or by individual institutions.​​

Kentucky scholars since 1993: 129
Kentucky scholars funded in 2018-19: 4
2018 Institute attendees from Kentucky: 22
Graduates since 1993: 90
Graduates currently employed: 80
Percent employed in education: 84

Kentucky Ph.D. students in the DSP have attended these institutions since 1993:

University of Kentucky
University of Louisville
Tulane University of Louisiana >

Passport Project

A new learning outcomes-based framework to accelerate and streamline transfer of student course credits among institutions in different states. SREB has joined other regional compacts in the Passport Project.

Kentucky is one of three SREB states reviewing learning outcomes for the Passport framework.