Postsecondary Education


Academic Common Market

A tuition-savings program for college students in SREB member states who want to pursue degrees not offered by in-state institutions. Students can enroll in out-of-state institutions that offer their degree program and pay the in-state tuition rates.

During calendar year 2016, approximately 2,100 degree programs were available, 151 institutions participated and nearly 3,300 new students were certified for study.

Number of Mississippi students who participated in ACM during 2016: 90

ACM State Representative: Gloria Miller, Director of Student Services, Mississippi Institutions of Higher Learning >​

Regional Contract Program

Gives students the opportunity to earn a professional health degree from participating institutions in other states through in-state tuition rates at public institutions or reduced tuition at private institutions. More than 600 students participate each year.

Participating students from Mississippi: 37

Number of out-of-state students who enrolled in Mississippi programs in 2016-17: 20

Residents of other states may contract for entry into Mississippi State University in veterinary medicine. This Mississippi institution receives more than $600,000 annually from other SREB states. >

State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement 

A nationwide system to open more high-quality distance education offerings for students and ease regulatory burden on institutions. SREB member states may opt in to offer distance education activities in other SARA states. ​

Mississippi is an approved member of SARA.

Mississippi SARA representative: Menia Dykes, Director of Accreditation, Mississippi Institutions of Higher Learning >

Fact Book and Data Exchange

Publishes one of the nation’s most comprehensive collections of comparative data through a cooperative effort of state postsecondary education agencies. Data are updated annually on topics including population demographics, college completion, tuition and fees, cost of attendance, state appropriations and faculty salaries. 

Mississippi leaders receive the SREB Fact Book on Higher Education, as well as Mississippi: Featured Facts From the SREB Fact Book on Higher Education and the annual SREB-State Data Exchange tables.

Mississippi’s participating agencies and their SREB-State Data Exchange coordinators: Mitzi Gendron, Mississippi Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning
Raul Fletes, Mississippi Community College Board >

Council on Collegiate Education for Nursing

Helps expand and strengthen schools of nursing to reduce the critical shortage of nurse educators needed to educate the nation’s registered nurses. The Council surveys institutions for nursing education trends and shares online graduate nursing courses.

As of October 2017, nine Mississippi institutions are members (listed here with their representatives to the Council):

Alcorn State University: Debra Spring, Dean
Delta State University: Vicki Bingham, Dean 
Hinds Community College: Elizabeth Mahaffey, Dean
Jones County Junior College: Erin Knight, Chair
Mississippi University for Women: Sheila Adams, Dean
Pearl River Community College: Arlene Jones, Director
University of Mississippi Medical Center: Kim Hoover, Dean
University of Southern Mississippi: Kathleen Masters, Dean
William Carey University: Karen Sicard, Dean >

Doctoral Scholars Program

Supports minority students to help them earn Ph.D.s, begin careers at colleges and universities, and diversify campus faculties. The SREB-State Doctoral Scholars Program hosts the annual Institute on Teaching and Mentoring, the nation’s largest gathering of minority doctoral scholars, with more than 1,200 attendees.

Scholars funded by Mississippi in 2016-17: 11
2016 Institute attendees from Mississippi: 15

Scholars Mississippi has supported since joining in 1993: 68

Graduates since 1993: 49
Graduates currently employed: 46
Percent employed in education: 83

Mississippi-supported Ph.D. students have attended these institutions since 1993:

Jackson State University
Louisiana State University
Mississippi State University
University of Mississippi
University of Mississippi Medical Center
University of Southern Mississippi
University of Tennessee – Knoxville >