Commission on Computer Science and Information Technology


Commission on Computer Science and Information Technology

Arkansas Governor Asa Hutchinson, 2015-16 SREB Chair and Chair of the Commission on Computer Science and Information Technology

What policies and practices will help more young people explore jobs in computer science, information technology and related areas? 

Chaired by Arkansas Governor and SREB Chair Asa Hutchinson, the Commission on Computer Science and Information Technology is charged with helping states expand access to challenging educational experiences in the fields of computer science, information technology and cybersecurity

Blog post

Demand, Curricula for Computer Science and IT

At the first meeting of the Commission on Computer Science and Information Technology in October 2015 in Little Rock, members learned about labor market demand for computer science and IT credentials and degrees. They heard from guest speakers about the National Science Foundation’s efforts to design engaging new curricula, the essential elements of cybersecurity pathways, and how the Pentagon trains those who serve the nation’s cyber-defense systems.

Commission members shared policies and practices in their own states and began offering recommendations on how to:


Commission on Computer Science and Information Technology

Asa Hutchinson, Governor, Arkansas, Chair

Conrad Appel, State Senator, Louisiana 
Laura Arnold, State Director of Career Technical Education, Kentucky Department of Education
Melanie Barton, Executive Director, South Carolina Education Oversight Committee 
Duncan Buell, Professor, Computer Science and Engineering University of South Carolina 
Gretchen Caughman, Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost, Georgia Regents University
Ann Clemmer, Senior Associate Director for Academic Affairs, Arkansas Department Higher Education
Philip Cleveland, Interim State Superintendent and Deputy State Superintendent, Division of Career and Technical Education, Alabama Department of Education
Walter Dalton, President, Isothermal Community College, North Carolina 
Tom Dickson, State Representative, Georgia
Rod Duckworth, Chancellor, Career and Adult Education, Florida Department of Education
Paul Espinosa, State Delegate, West Virginia 
Brenda Gilmore, State Representative, Tennessee 
David Givens, Senate President Pro Tem, Kentucky General Assembly
Bill Gossage, State Representative, Arkansas General Assembly
Jim Halligan, State Senator, Oklahoma 
Kathryn Hornsby, Assistant Commissioner, Technical Education, Technical College System of Georgia
Donna Johnson, Executive Director, Delaware State Board of Education
Henry Johnson, Assistant State Superintendent for Curriculum, Assessment and Accountability, Maryland Department of Education
Tim Johnston, STEM Coordinator, Arkansas Department of Career Education
Kenneth Langley, Project Manager, Research and Curriculum Unit, Mississippi State University 
Mamie Locke, State Senator, Virginia
Marcie Mack, State Director, Oklahoma Department of Career and Technical Education 
Bruce Martin, Information Systems Technology, Midlands Technical College, South Carolina
Anthony Owen, Computer Science Coordinator, Arkansas Department of Education
Bob Plymale, State Senator, West Virginia 
Tina Smith, Arkansas Public School Resource Center
Dave Sokola, State Senator, Delaware 
Steven Staples, Superintendent of Public Instruction, Virginia Department of Education 
Gray Tollison, State Senator, Mississippi
Barbara Wall, State Director of Career and Technical Education, Georgia Department of Education 
Casey Wardynski, Superintendent, Huntsville City Schools, Alabama