Nursing, Council on Collegiate Education


Council on Collegiate Education for Nursing
A leading advocate for nursing education

Nurse educators at the Annual Meeting learn about the METIman simulator

The SREB Council on Collegiate Education for Nursing helps strengthen schools of nursing at colleges and universities to reduce the critical shortage of nurse educators needed to train the nation’s registered nurses.

The Council brings together college-based nursing programs at all levels — associate, bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral — that prepare registered nurses for entry-level and advanced practice positions in the 16 SREB states and the District of Columbia. Building on more than five decades of collaboration with nursing leaders to promote cooperative regional planning, the Council is a proactive force for inspiring excellence in nursing education throughout the region. It also is the only regional organization for nurse educators in the nation affiliated with an interstate compact for education (SREB).