About - Board



The Board includes the governor and four gubernatorial appointees from each member state, including at least one state legislator and one educator. The Legislative Advisory Council of legislators from each state advises the Board. West Virginia Governor Jim Justice, right, is 2022-23 SREB chair.



Kay Ivey, Governor of Alabama, Montgomery, ex officio (2023)

Alan Baker, State Representative, Brewton (2025) Executive Committee member

Terri Collins, State Representative, Decatur (2023)

Mark Dixon, President, A+ Education Partnership, Montgomery (2022)

Eric Mackey, State Superintendent of Education, Montgomery (2024)



Sarah Huckabee Sanders, Governor of Arkansas, Little Rock, ex officio (2027)

Brian Evans, State Representative, Cabot (2024)

Bill Gossage, Vice President of Governmental Affairs, Electric Cooperatives of Arkansas, Little Rock (2026)

Teresa Inman, District Instructional Technology Coordinator, Paris (2023)

Diane Zook, Little Rock (2025)



John Carney, Governor of Delaware, Dover, ex officio (2025) 

Mark A. Holodick, Secretary of Education, Wilmington (2025)

Robert W. Rescigno, Assistant Vice President, Academic Affairs, Wilmington University, Milford (2023)

David P. Sokola, State Senator, Newark (2022) Executive Committee member

Kimberly Williams, State Representative, Wilmington (2024)



Ron DeSantis, Governor of Florida, Tallahassee, ex officio (2023)

Megan Crombie, Teacher and Instructional Specialist, Florida State University School, Tallahassee (2024)

Dr. Arthur Keiser, Chancellor, Keiser University, Parkland (2025)

Alex Rizo, State Representative, Hileah (2026)

Dr. G. Devin Stephenson, President and CEO, Northwest Florida State College, Niceville (2023) Executive Committee member



Brian Kemp, Governor of Georgia, Atlanta, ex officio (2023)

Matt Arthur, Executive Secretary, Georgia Professional Standards Commission, Atlanta (2025)

Greg Dozier, Commissioner, Technical College System of Georgia, Atlanta (2023) Executive Committee member

Terry England, former State Representative, Auburn (2024)

Blake Tillery, State Senator, Vidalia (2022)



Andy Beshear, Governor of Kentucky, Frankfort, ex officio (2023)

Andrew Belcher, Director of Assessment, Hopkins County Schools, Madisonville (2026)

Ruth Ann Palumbo, State Representative, Lexington (2025)

Felicia Cumings Smith, President, National Center for Families Learning, Louisville (2024) Executive Committee memberVice Chair of the SREB Board

Nancy Tate, State Representative, Brandenburg (2023)



John Bel Edwards, Governor of Louisiana, Baton Rouge, ex officio (2024) 

Preston “Cade” Brumley, State Superintendent of Education, Baton Rouge (2023)

Jason Hughes, State Representative, New Orleans (2025)

Kim Hunter Reed, Commissioner of Higher Education, Baton Rouge (2026) Executive Committee member

Monty Sullivan, President, Louisiana Community and Technical College System, Baton Rouge (2024)



Wes Moore, Governor of Maryland, Annapolis, ex officio (2027)

John D. “Jack” Bailey, State Senator, Mechanicsville (2023)

Gail H. Bates, Member, State Board of Education, West Friendship (2022)

James D. Fielder, Secretary of Higher Education, Baltimore (2025) Executive Committee member

Jay Perman, Chancellor, University System of Maryland, Baltimore (2024)



Tate Reeves, Governor of Mississippi, Jackson, ex officio (2024)

Richard Bennett, State Representative, Long Beach (2026)

Dennis DeBar, Jr., State Senator, Leakesville (2024)

Holly Spivey, Director of Government Relations, Mississippi Department of Education, Jackson (2023)

Dr. Carey Wright, Former State Superintendent of Education, Jackson (2025) Executive Committee member


North Carolina

Roy Cooper, Governor of North Carolina, Raleigh, ex officio (2025)

Elease Frederick, retired Superintendent, Enfield (2023)

Graig R. Meyer, State Senator, Chapel Hill (2025) Executive Committee member

Shirley Prince, Executive Director, North Carolina Principals and Assistant Principals Association, Wilmington (2026)

Gladys A. Robinson, State Senator, Greensboro (2024)



Kevin Stitt, Governor of Oklahoma, Oklahoma City, ex officio (2023)

Chad Caldwell, State Representative, Enid (2026)

Allison D. Garrett, Chancellor, Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education, Oklahoma City (2023) Executive Committee member 

Jennifer Monies, Member, State Board of Education, Oklahoma City (2025)

Adam Pugh, State Senator, Edmond (2024)


South Carolina

Henry McMaster, Governor of South Carolina, Columbia, ex officio (2027)

Rita Allison, Member, State Board of Education, Lyman (2024)

Melanie Barton, Education Policy Advisor, Office of the Governor, Columbia (2026)

Nikki G. Setzler, State Senator, West Columbia (2025) Executive Committee member

Ellen Weaver, State Superintendent of Education, Columbia (2023)



Bill Lee, Governor of Tennessee, Nashville, ex officio (2023)

Randy Dowell, Executive Director, KIPP Nashville (2024)

Eddie Smith, former State Representative, Knoxville (2022)

Mark White, State Representative, Memphis (2021) Executive Committee member, Treasurer of the SREB Board

L. Anthony Wise, President, Pellissippi State College, Knoxville (2023)



Greg Abbott, Governor of Texas, Austin, ex officio (2027)

Kendall Baker, Trustee, Houston Independent School District, Houston (2023)

Harrison Keller, Commissioner of Higher Education, Austin (2025) Executive Committee member

Mike Morath, Commissioner of Education, Austin (2026)

Larry Taylor, former State Senator, Friendswood (2024)



Glenn Youngkin, Governor of Virginia, Richmond, ex officio (2026)

Janet D. Howell, State Senator, Reston (2022) Executive Committee member

Keesha Jackson-Muir, Principal, Braddock Elementary School, Annandale (2024)

Javaid Siddiqi, President and CEO, The Hunt Institute, Midlothian (2025)

Dietra Y. Trent, Interim Vice President for Compliance, Diversity and Ethics and Senior Advisor to the President, George Mason University, Chesterfield (2023)


West Virginia

Jim Justice, Governor of West Virginia, Charleston, ex officio (2025) Chair of the SREB Board

Paul Hardesty, President, State Board of Education, Holden (2025)

Robert H. Plymale, State Senator, Huntington (2026) Executive Committee member

Roman W. Prezioso Jr., former State Senator, Fairmont (2023)

Sarah Armstrong Tucker, Chancellor, Higher Education Policy Commission, Charleston (2024)