About - Awards and Honors


Jack Hill Champion of Education Award

The Jack Hill Champion of Education Award honors state leaders who make important long-term contributions to education and to SREB’s work on behalf of the 16-state region. It recognizes leaders who share a commitment to civility, cooperation and public service and who understand the role of long-term state fiscal commitment to education


School Improvement

Gene Bottoms Pacesetter School Awards recognize schools that implement SREB school improvement frameworks and bold goals for students to graduate ready for college, careers and credentials. 

State and District Leadership Awards
SREB recognizes the outstanding leadership efforts of a state and a district that established structures to help schools transform their school and classroom practices and maintain cultures of continuous improvement.


Carnegie Award for Nursing

The Mary Elizabeth Carnegie Award honored a nurse educator who exemplified the quest for excellence in nursing education. Named for  Elizabeth Carnegie, who was a trailblazer, a pathfinder, a scholar and an advocate for workforce diversity in nursing education and practice, it was awarded by the SREB Council on Collegiate Education for Nursing to four leaders between 2010 and 2019.