Chairs of the Southern Regional Education Board
1949 to present


Georgia Governor Brian Kemp, 2023-2024 

West Virginia Governor Jim Justice, 2022-2023 

Delaware Governor John Carney, Delaware, 2020-2022 

Arkansas Governor Asa Hutchinson, 2019-2020 

Louisiana Governor John Bel Edwards, 2016-2019 

Arkansas Governor Asa Hutchinson, 2015-16 

Kentucky Governor Steve Beshear, 2013-2015 

Louisiana Governor Bobby Jindal, 2012-2013 

Virginia Governor Robert F. McDonnell, 2011-2012 

North Carolina Governor Beverly Perdue, 2010-2011 

West Virginia Governor Joe Manchin III, 2009-2010 

Virginia Governor Timothy M. Kaine, 2008-2009 

Georgia Governor Sonny Perdue, 2006-2008 

Louisiana Governor Kathleen Babineaux Blanco, 2004-2006 

Arkansas Governor Mike Huckabee, 2004 

Mississippi Governor Ronnie Musgrove, 2002-2004 

Georgia Governor Roy E. Barnes, 2000-2002 

West Virginia Governor Cecil H. Underwood, 1998-2000, 1958-1960 

Kentucky Governor Paul E. Patton, 1997-1998 

Maryland Governor Parris N. Glendening, 1995-1997 

Florida Governor Lawton Chiles, 1993-1995 

Georgia Governor Zell Miller, 1992-1993 

West Virginia Governor Gaston Caperton, 1991-1992 

Tennessee Governor Ned McWherter, 1990-1992 

Oklahoma Governor Henry Bellmon, 1989-1990 

Mississippi Governor Ray Mabus, 1988-1989 

North Carolina Governor James G. Martin, 1987-1988 

Georgia Governor Joe Frank Harris, 1986-1987 

Kentucky Governor Martha Layne Collins, 1985-1986 

South Carolina Governor Richard W. Riley, 1984-1985 

Tennessee Governor Lamar Alexander, 1983-1984 

Mississippi Governor William F. Winter, 1982-1983 

Maryland Governor Harry Hughes, 1981-1982 

Florida Governor D. Robert Graham, 1979-1981 

West Virginia Governor John D. Rockefeller IV, 1978-1979 

North Carolina Governor James B. Hunt Jr., 1977-1978 

Virginia Governor Mills E. Godwin Jr., 1976-1977, 1968-1969 

Arkansas Governor David Pryor, 1975-1976 

North Carolina Governor James E. Holshouser Jr., 1974-1975 

South Carolina Governor John C. West, 1973-1974 

Virginia Governor Linwood Holton, 1972-1973 

Georgia Governor Jimmy Carter, 1971-1972 

North Carolina Governor Robert W. Scott, 1970-1971 

Tennessee Governor Buford Ellington, 1969-1970, 1960-1961 

South Carolina Governor Robert E. McNair, 1967-1968 

West Virginia Governor Hulett C. Smith, 1966-1967 

Georgia Governor Carl E. Sanders, 1965-1966 

Virginia Governor Albertis S. Harrison Jr., 1963-1965 

North Carolina Governor Terry Sanford, 1961-1963 

North Carolina Governor Luther H. Hodges, 1957-1958 

Florida Governor LeRoy Collins, 1955-1957 

Tennessee Governor Frank G. Clement, 1954-1955 

Kentucky Governor Lawrence W. Wetherby, 1952-1954 

Tennessee Governor Gordon Browning, 1951-1952 

Florida Governor Millard F. Caldwell, 1949-1951