Carnegie Award for Nursing


The Mary Elizabeth Carnegie Award honored a nurse educator who exemplified the quest for excellence in nursing education. Named for  Elizabeth Carnegie, who was a trailblazer, a pathfinder, a scholar and an advocate for workforce diversity in nursing education and practice, it was awarded by the SREB Council on Collegiate Education for Nursing to four leaders between 2010 and 2019.

Carnegie Award Recipients

Constance Hendricks, Ph.D., RN, FAAN
Dean and Professor
Tuskegee University

Press Release>

G. Rumay Alexander, Ed.D., RN, FAAN
Director of Multicultural Affairs and Clinical Professor
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Dee Baldwin, Ph.D., RN, FAAN
Associate Dean and Professor
University of North Carolina at Charlotte
Ora L. Strickland, Ph.D., RN, FAAN 
Dean and Professor
Florida International University