Arkansas Community Colleges to benefit from joining Open Education Network


The Arkansas Community Colleges system is joining the Open Education Network, advancing the use of open educational resources (OER) across the state.

Faculty and administrators at Arkansas’ 22 community and technical colleges now can tap the network’s training and support for offering free, high-quality classroom resources to students — eliminating students’ textbook costs in some courses.

In 2018, the University of Arkansas-Cossatot was the state’s first institution to join the Open Education Network, and a majority of the college’s courses now use open resources.

Membership in the network is now open to all of Arkansas’ colleges and universities. The first year of membership is provided by SREB, with support from the William H. and Flora Hewlett Foundation.

Click here for more details and contacts.