Governor Hutchinson of Arkansas Elected SREB Chair
Johnson of Oklahoma is vice chair; West Virginia's Plymale is treasurer. LAC officers are Carney of Kentucky and Smith of Louisiana

News SREB News Release

Governor Asa Hutchinson of Arkansas was elected to serve as chair of the Southern Regional Education Board at the organization’s annual meeting in Richmond, Virginia.

Governor Hutchinson will lead the collaborative work of governors, legislators and state education leaders on SREB’s 80-member board to improve public education at every level, from early childhood through doctoral education. He also served as board chair from 2015-16 and chaired SREB’s Commission on Computer Science and Information Technology.

“It is an honor to be selected to serve with individuals who continually strive to improve public education at all levels,” said Governor Hutchinson. “The leaders of SREB understand the importance of computer science education and have been strong supporters of our efforts in Arkansas, in the south and nationally.”

Glen D. Johnson, chancellor of the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education, will continue as vice chair of the Board. A former state legislator and speaker of the Oklahoma House of Representatives, Johnson has been an active leader on the SREB board since 2010, including chairing the Commission on College Affordability in the South.

State Senator Robert H. Plymale of West Virginia continues as treasurer. A member of the West Virginia legislature since 1993, he has been an SREB board member since 2003. “I am honored to serve in this capacity,” said Plymale. “The issues SREB is addressing now are critical for the future of our states’ education systems.”

“We are grateful for Governor Hutchinson’s leadership on education in Arkansas and across the region,” said SREB President Stephen Pruitt. “This kind of commitment makes a difference in improving opportunities for each and every student in our states.”

SREB Legislative Advisory Council Officers

State Representative John “Bam” Carney of Kentucky was re-elected chair of SREB’s Legislative Advisory Council. State Representative Patricia Smith of Louisiana was re-elected vice chair. 
A former social studies teacher, Representative Carney of Campbellsville has served actively with SREB since 2011. Representative Smith of Baton Rouge, a former teacher and local school board president, has been a member of the SREB Legislative Advisory Committee since 2016.

A nonprofit, nonpartisan interstate compact, SREB was created in 1948 by Southern governors and legislators who recognized the link between education and economic vitality. SREB states are Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia and West Virginia.