SARA State Contacts

Overview

SARA State Contacts

Alabama 
Ron Leonard
Director of Special Initiatives
Alabama Commission on Higher Education
P.O. Box 302000
Montgomery, AL 36130-2000
Phone: 334-242-2211
E-mail1: ron.leonard@ache.edu
E-mail2: robin.mcgill@ache.edu
Alabama SARA Website

Arkansas
Alana Boles
Program Director of Private Career and Out-of-State Education
Arkansas Division of Higher Education
423 Main Street, Suite 400
Little Rock, AR 72201
Phone: 501-371-2060
Email: alana.boles@adhe.edu
Arkansas SARA Website

Delaware
Shana Payne
Director
Delaware Department of Education, Office of Higher Education
The Townsend Building
401 Federal Street, Suite 2
Dover, DE 19901
Phone: 302-735-4120
Email: shana.payne@doe.k12.de.us          
Delaware SARA Website

District of Columbia
Angela H. Lee (Committee Chair 11/2020 – 10/2022)
Executive Director
Higher Education Licensure Commission
Postsecondary Education
Office of the State Superintendent of Education (OSSE)
Government of the District of Columbia
1050 First Avenue NE
Washington, DC 20002
Phone: 202-724-2095
Email: angela.lee@dc.gov
District of Columbia SARA Website

Florida 
Brady Lyon
Educational Policy Director
Commission for Independent Education
325 W. Gaines Street, Suite 1414
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0400
Phone: 850-245-3200
Email1: brady.lyon@fldoe.org
Email2: 
Florida SARA website

Georgia
Kirk Shook
Executive Director
Georgia Nonpublic Postsecondary Education Commission (GNPEC)
2082 East Exchange Place, Suite 220
Tucker, GA 30084
Phone: 770-414-3300
Email1: kshook@gnpec.ga.gov
Email2: adamh@gnpec.ga.gov
Georgia SARA Website

Kentucky
Jevonda Keith
Director of State Authorization and Reciprocity
Kentucky Council on Postsecondary Education
100 Airport Road, Third Floor
Frankfort, KY 40601
Phone: 502-892-3031
Email1: jevonda.keith@ky.gov
Email2: sarah.levy@ky.gov
Kentucky SARA website

Louisiana
LeAnn Detillier
Assistant Commissioner for Program Administration
Louisiana Board of Regents
1201 N. Third St., Suite 6-200
Baton Rouge, LA 70802
Phone: 225-342-4253
Email1: LeAnn.Detillier@laregents.edu
Email2: Larry.Tremblay@laregents.edu
Louisiana SARA Website

Maryland 
Bryson Barksdale
Online Education Analyst
Maryland Higher Education Commission
6 North Liberty Street, 10th Floor
Baltimore, MD 21201
Phone: 410-767-3388
Email1: bryson.barksdale@maryland.gov
Email2: karen.king-sheridan@maryland.gov   
Maryland SARA Website

Mississippi 
Menia Dykes
Director of Accreditation
Office of Academic and Student Affairs
Mississippi Institutions of Higher Learning
3825 Ridgewood Road
Jackson, MS 39211
Phone: 601-432-6372
Email: mdykes@mississippi.edu
Mississippi SARA Website

North Carolina 
Terrence R. Scarborough
Director of SARA-NC
UNG-General Administration
North Carolina State Education Assistance Authority
P.O. Box 14103
Research Triangle Park, NC 27709
Phone: 919-248-4660
Email: terrence@saranc.org
North Carolina SARA Website

Oklahoma
Kyle Foster
Assistant Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs
Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education
655 Research Parkway, Suite 200
Oklahoma City, OK 73101
Phone: 405-225-9163
Email1: kfoster@osrhe.edu
Email2: lwalker@osrhe.edu
Oklahoma SARA Website

Pennsylvania
Lynette Kuhn
Acting Division Chief
Division of Higher Education, Access, and Equity
333 Market Street 
Harrisburg, PA 17126
Phone: 717-736-7268
Email1: lykuhn@pa.gov
Email2: giwetten@pa.gov
Pennsylvania SARA Website

Puerto Rico
David Baez
Economic Program Analyst
Office of Registration and Licensing of Education Institutions
Board of Postsecondary Institutions
PO Box 9023271
San Juan, PR 00902-3271
Phone: 787-641-7100 ext. 2056
Email: dbaez@estado.pr.gov
Email2: dnolasco@estado.pr.gov
Website: Puerto Rico SARA website

South Carolina
Argentini Anderson
Assistant Director, Office of Academic Affairs
South Carolina Commission on Higher Education
1122 Lady Street, Suite 400
Columbia, SC 29201
Phone: 803-737-2276
Email1: aanderson@che.sc.gov
Email2: sprice@che.sc.gov
South Carolina SARA Website

Tennessee
Julie Woodruff (Committee Vice Chair 11/2021 – 10/2023)
Assistant Executive Director of Postsecondary State Authorization and Lead Attorney
Tennessee Higher Education Commission
312 Rosa L. Parks Avenue, 9th Floor
Nashville, TN 37243
Phone: 615-253-8857
Email: julie.woodruff@tn.gov
Tennessee SARA Website

Texas
Jessica Acton
Assistant Commissioner, Academic Quality and Workforce
Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board
P O Box 12788
Austin, TX 78711
Phone: 512-427-6214
Email: Jessica.Acton@highered.texas.gov​
Texas SARA Website

Virgin Islands
Camille McKayle
Provost and Vice Provost for Academic Affairs
University of the Virgin Islands
No. 2 John Brewers Bay
St. Thomas, VI 00802
Phone: 340-692-4022
Email1: cmckayl@uvi.edu
Email2: sharris@uvi.edu
Website: https://www.uvi.edu/audience/prospective-students.aspx

Virginia
Darlene Derricott
Director of Academic Services
State Council of Higher Education for Virginia
101 N. 14th Street, 9th Floor
Richmond, VA 23219
Phone: 804-225-2621
Email1: darlenederricott@schev.edu
Email2: joedefilippo@schev.edu
Email3: emilyhils@schev.edu
Virginia SARA Website

West Virginia
Nikki Bryant
Director of Academic Programming
West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission
West Virginia Council for Community & Technical College Education
1018 Kanawha Blvd. East, Suite 700
Charleston, WV 25301
Phone: 304-558-0261
Email1: nikki.bryant@wvhepc.edu
West Virginia SARA Website

At-Large Member
Elise Scanlon (11/2020 – 10/2022)
General Counsel
Distance Education Accrediting Commission
1101-17th Street NW
Suite 808
Washington, DC 20036
Phone: 703-772-2880
Email: elise.scanlon@elisescanlonlawgroup.com

At-Large Member
Kris Williams (11/2020 – 10/2022)
Chancellor
Kentucky Community and Technical College System
300 N. Main Street
Versailles, KY 40383
Phone: 859.256.3250
Email: kris.williams@kctcs.edu

At-Large Member
Robert Keown (11/2020 – 10/2023)
Executive Director, Georgia Virtual Technical Connection
Technical College System of Georgia
1800 Century Place NE, Ste 400
Atlanta, GA 30345
Phone: 404-679-1667
Email: rkeown@tcsg.edu

At-Large Member
Sharon Spencer (11/2020 – 10/2022)
Assistant Vice Provost for Compliance and Reporting
University of Maryland University College
1616 McCormick Drive
Largo, MD 20774
Phone: 240-684-2122
Email: sharon.spencer@umgc.edu

At-Large Member
Teri Spence (11/2020 - 10/2022)
Director, Office of Compliance & Contracts
Penn State Outreach and Online Education
The 329 Building, Ste 218
University Park, PA 16802
Phone: 814-865-2992
Email: tls37@psu.edu